

# 2020 Virtual Annual Business Meeting Minutes Thursday, November 19, 2020

#### Call to order

President Colleen Kibin called the 92<sup>nd</sup> annual business meeting to order at 12:00pm. Colleen introduced herself to the conference attendees and welcomed all participants to the first virtual Business meeting. She acknowledged both first timers and past Presidents by asking them to raise their hand. She also acknowledged and thanked the Conference Planning Committee, and all of our wonderful Vendors. Colleen then explained the voting process, and that the individual who is voting for their institution will hold up something with their school name or logo on it to be counted.

#### **Introduction of Wellsprings Lutheran**

Liza Lagman-Sperl introduced Wellsprings Lutheran to the group and provided a short video. She shared information about their Recovery High School program, Wellspring Academy, to assist individuals with alcohol and substance abuse to get their diplomas. She also explained their Go Fund Me initiative, and how MACRAO members could participate. She thanked MACRAO for supporting Lutheran Wellsprings.

## **Approval of 2019 Annual Meeting Minutes**

Kimberly Blair-Chambers, Secretary presented the 2019 Business Meeting Minutes from November 21, 2019. She reminded the conference attendees that the minutes and reports were posted to the MACRAO web site and were in the fall newsletter. Colleen called for a motion to accept the 2019 Annual Business Meeting Minutes, Steve Shablin, Michigan State University made a motion to accept the minutes, and Laurie Huber, Oakland Community College seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

# **Approval of 2020 Treasurer's Report**

Jonathan Kohns, Treasurer presented the Treasurer's Report for 2020. Jonathan shared accomplishments ad goals for 2020 and 2021.

#### 2020:

- Fiscal year changed to match calendar year.
- Moved our General Savings Funds from Chase to Lake MI Credit Union.
- Established relationship directly with Authorize.net (payment gateway).
- Worked with accountant to clean up several old transactions that had never cleared.
- Utilized our surplus to suspend dues for one year.

#### 2021:

- Update Chart of Accounts in QuickBooks to more accurately represent our activities.
- Create COVID and Non-COVID budget by January 1, 2021.
- Investigate short term roll over CD's for some of our surplus.

Statement of Financial Position (as of December 31, 2019)

Checking Account Balance - \$42,491.26 Savings Account Balance \$125,898.78

Total Balance: \$168,390.04

Colleen called for a motion to accept the 2020 Treasurer's Report. Keith Malkowski, Central Michigan University made the motion to accept the Treasurer's report, and Sylvia Stancil, Wayne State University seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

## **Bylaw Changes**

Colleen Kibin briefly discussed the proposed bylaw changes that were presented to the membership. The proposed changes were posted on the website in July. Colleen called for a motion to accept the Bylaw changes. Stuart Keenan, Cleary University made a motion to accept the Bylaw changes, and Urana Pridemore, U of M Dearborn seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

#### **Recognition of Committee Members**

Tom Kephart, President-Elect asked all chairs, co-chairs and committee members to wave and be recognized. Tom thanked them on behalf of the Board of Directors. He reminded attendees that Committee Reports are on the MACRAO website. He also encouraged members to become involved in MACRAO by volunteering for committee membership.

#### Presentation of the Innovation in Transfer Award

Chris Marx, Davenport University presented the award to Central Michigan University, "Enhancing Transfer Credit Pathways". Amy Faber and Bob Garcia will present on the program Friday November 20<sup>th</sup> at 9am

#### Presentation of the Equity in Education Award

Tom Kephart, President-Elect presented the award to Lansing Community College, "RISE Institute-Race and Equity in Higher Education". Dr. Tonya Bailey will present on the program Friday November 20<sup>th</sup> at 9am.

#### **Presentation of the Outstanding Professional Team**

Colleen Kibin, President presented the award to Central Michigan University "Multi-Semester Registration Team". Amy Faber, Eric Johnson, and Keith Malkowski present Thursday November 19<sup>th</sup> at 2pm.

#### Invitation to the 2020 Conference

Sandy Stoddard, 2021 Conference Planning Committee Chair invited all attendees to the 2021 Annual Conference that will be held at Shanty Creek, November 17-19, 2021. This will be the 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary of MACRAO.

#### **Election of Officers**

Lee Cruppenink, Chair of the Nomination Committee, recognized the members of the committee and thanked them for their dedication and service. Lee presented the slate of nominees for the MACRAO Board of Directors and the 2021 Nomination Committee.

# **Recognition of Nomination Committee**

- Lee recognized the most recent Past Presidents of MACRAO that served on the Nominations Committee: Nikole Ford-Kondraciuk, Henry Ford College, and Lee Cruppenink, Central Michigan University.
- Lee also recognized the additional members of the Nomination Committee Valerie Butterfield, representing a two-year institution, Keith Malkowski, representing a four-year public institution and Carly Miller, representing a four-year private institution.

## Nomination for President Elect, and the 2020 Nomination Committee

Lee presented Amy Wisniewski, University of Detroit Mercy for the position of President Elect for 2020. Hearing no additional nominations from the floor, Lee asked for a motion. Steve Shablin, Michigan State University, made a motion to elect Amy Wisniewski as President Elect, and Dan Vainner, Grand Valley State university seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

Lee presented the nominations for the 2021 Nomination Committee. The nominees from the members-atlarge are:

- Becky Landenberger, Bay College, representing a two-year college
- Daniel Vainner, Grand Valley State University, representing a four-year public institution
- Jill Price, Baker College, representing a four-year private institution

Hearing no additional nominations from the floor, Lee called for a motion to accept Becky Landenberger, Daniel Vainner, and Jill Price to the 2020 Nomination Committee. Keith Malkowski, Central Michigan University, made a motion to elect Becky, Daniel, and Jill to the 2021 Nomination Committee, and Melissa Jimenez, Wayne State University seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

## **Recognition of Membership Coordinator**

Colleen recognized Aimee Adamski as the past Membership Coordinator of MACRAO.

# **Recognition of Past President**

Colleen recognized Lee Cruppenink as the Past President of MACRAO. She thanked him for her dedication, leadership, and service to MACRAO.

# **Recognition of Outgoing President**

Tom Kephart thanked Colleen Kibin for her service as President.

# **Outgoing President's Remarks**

Colleen, President thanked the membership and Board of Directors for this opportunity and spoke about her involvement with MACRAO and the presidency.

Colleen virtually passed the gavel to Tom as the new MACRAO president.

## **Incoming President Remarks**

Tom detailed his plan for his year as president of MACRAO. He has been working closely with Colleen and the BOD and plans to continue to move MACRAO into the future. He also encouraged members to get involved.

## **Call for Adjournment**

Colleen adjourned the meeting at 12:56 pm